Behavioral, Cognitive, and Affective Neuroscience

Behavioral, Cognitive and Affective neuroscientists seek to understand the neurobiological bases of behavior, thought, and emotion. This broad field encompasses a variety of multidisciplinary methodologies including cognitive and behavioral testing, experimental techniques, physiological measures (i.e. respiration, heart rate, eye movement), structural and functional neuroimaging measures (EEG, fNIRS, fMRI, PET, fMRS, sMRI, DTI, and MRS), and postmortem brain analysis with the key goal of understanding mechanisms by which the nervous systems produce and react to behavior, thought, and emotion. Some specific areas of focus include understanding the neural basis of:

  • learning and memory
  • social behavior
  • sensation and perception
  • metabolic and functional consequences of emotional overload
  • speech and motor control
  • goal-directed behavior
  • attention
  • consciousness and sleep
  • emotion regulation

EEG: electroencephalography, fNIRS: functional near-infrared spectroscopy, fMRI: functional magnetic resonance imaging, PET: positron-emission tomography, fMRS: functional magnetic resonance spectroscopy, sMRI: structural magnetic resonance imaging, DTI: diffusion tensor imaging, MRS: magnetic resonance spectroscopy

Andrew Alexander

Faculty Co-Director, Brain Imaging Core, Director of MR Physics Research, Professor of Medical Physics and Psychiatry

alalexander2@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8233

Reid Alisch

Assistant Professor, Department of Neurological Surgery

alisch@wisc.edu

(608) 263-3793

Tracy L. Baker

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

bakert@vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 890-2964

Vaishali P. Bakshi

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

vbakshi@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6062

Matthew I. Banks

Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

mibanks@wisc.edu

(608) 261-1143

Barbara Bendlin

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

bbb@medicine.wisc.edu

(608) 265-2483

Craig W. Berridge

Professor, Department of Psychology

berridge@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5938

Corinna Burger

Associate Professor of Neurology

burger@neurology.wisc.edu

(608) 263-0301

Michael Cahill

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

michael.cahill@wisc.edu

Chiara Cirelli

Professor, Department of Psychiatry

ccirelli@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9236

Josh M. Cisler

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry

jcisler2@wisc.edu

Michelle Ciucci

Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Department of Surgery, Division of Otolaryngology- Head and Neck Surgery

ciucci@surgery.wisc.edu

(608) 265-6516

Robert Dempsey

Manucher J. Javid Professor; Chairman, Department of Neurological Surgery; Director, Multidisciplinary Stroke Program

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-1410

Stephen C. Gammie

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

scgammie@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3457

Ryan Herringa

Assistant Professor of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry UW-Madison

herringa@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6068

Xin Huang

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

xhuang43@wisc.edu

(608) 265-2744

Edward Hubbard

Assistant Professor, Deparment of Education Psychology

emhubbard@wisc.edu

(608) 265-2607

Sterling C. Johnson

Professor, Department of Medicine

scj@medicine.wisc.edu

(608) 262-9549

Michael R. Koenigs

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

mrkoenigs@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1679

Jon Levine

Professor, Department of Neuroscience; Director, Wisconsin National Primate Research Center

levine@primate.wisc.edu

(608) 263-3500

Ruth Litovsky

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

litovksy@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 262-5045

Brendon M Nacewicz

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

bmnacewi@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5233

Caroline Niziolek

Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders

cniziolek@wisc.edu

(608) 890-0192

Ozioma Okonkwo

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

ozioma@medicine.wisc.edu

(608) 265-4479

Benjamin Parrell

Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders

bparrell@wisc.edu

(608) 263-8861

David T. Plante

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry

dplante@wisc.edu

(608) 232-3328

Luis Populin

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

lpopulin@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6451

Brad R. Postle

Professor, Department of Psychology

postle@wisc.edu

(608) 262-4330

Vivek Prabhakaran

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

vprabhakaran@uwhealth.org

(608) 265-5269

Lauren V. Riters

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

lvriters@wisc.edu

(608) 262-6506

Timothy T. Rogers

Professor, Department of Psychology

ttrogers@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0808

Bas Rokers

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology

rokers@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8992

Ari Rosenberg

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

ari.rosenberg@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5782

Yuri Saalmann

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

saalmann@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8671

Robert D. Sanders

Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

robert.sanders@wisc.edu

Giulio Tononi

Professor, Department of Psychiatry

gtononi@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6063

Brittany Travers

Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy Program in the Department of Kinesiology, Waisman Center

btravers@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0282

Emily Ward

Assistant Professor of Psychology

ejward@wisc.edu

Jerry C.P. Yin

Professor, Departments of Genetics and Neurology

jcyin@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5014

John-Paul Yu

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

jpyu@uwhealth.org

(608) 265-4792