University of Wisconsin–Madison

Development, Plasticity, and Repair

The faculty in this area focus on understanding the cellular and molecular mechanisms that pattern the nervous system during development. Many complex processes are involved in the differentiation of specific neuronal and glial cell types and the formation of axon pathways and neural connections. In Neuroscience Training Program, students use cutting edge genetic techniques in model systems such as Drosophila, zebrafish, and mice to understand how individual molecules function in a variety of processes important for neural development. One main focus of investigation is understanding the mechanisms of neuronal and glial differentiation. Faculty are exploring questions such as how cell lineage is determined, how cells choose neuronal or glial fates, and what determines the type of neurotransmitter synthesized. Another strong concentration is the analysis of axon pathfinding mechanisms with live imaging of growing axons either in vivo or in cell cultures. Other faculty are investigating mechanisms of synaptic plasticity in the hippocampus and in the neural control of respiration. The Program also has a major strength in high-profile stem cell research. These investigators are pioneering methods of growing and controlling the differentiation of embryonic and neural stem cells; work that is crucial both for understanding normal neuronal differentiation mechanisms, and to replace neurons and restore circuits after brain injury or disease.

Randolph Ashton

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

rashton2@wisc.edu

(608) 316-4312

Anthony P. Auger

Professor, Department of Psychology

apauger@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3743

Tracy L. Baker

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

bakert@vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 890-2964

Seth S. Blair

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

ssblair@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1345

Grace Boekhoff-Falk

Associate Professor, Department of Cell & Regenerative Biology

boekhofffalk@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1609

Grace Boekhoff-Falk

Associate Professor, Department of Cell & Regenerative Biology

boekhofffalk@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1609

Michael Cahill

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

michael.cahill@wisc.edu

Robert Dempsey

Manucher J. Javid Professor; Chairman, Department of Neurological Surgery; Director, Multidisciplinary Stroke Program

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-1410

Erik W. Dent

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

ewdent@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7884

Ian D. Duncan

Professor, Department of Medical Sciences

duncani@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 263-9828

Timothy M. Gomez

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

tmgomez@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4554

Yevgenya Grinblat

Associate Professor, Departments of Zoology & Neuroscience

ygrinblat@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3219

Yevgenya Grinblat

Associate Professor, Departments of Integrative Biology & Neuroscience

ygrinblat@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3219

Mary C. Halloran

Professor, Departments of Integrative Biology & Neuroscience

mchalloran@wisc.edu

(608) 263-7875

Zhen Huang

Associate Professor, Departments of Neurology & Neuroscience

zhuang3@wisc.edu

(608) 263-2469

Bermans J. Iskandar

Professor, Department of Neurological Surgery

iskandar@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-9651

Stephen M. Johnson

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences, School of Veterinary Medicine

johnsons@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 263-2996

Katherine Kalil

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

kakalil@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8902

Peter Lipton

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

plipton@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1709

Ruth Litovsky

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

litovksy@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 262-5045

Darcie L. Moore

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

darcie.moore@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7836

Jack B. Nitschke

Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Psychology

jnitschke@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8600

Kate O'Connor-Giles

Associate Professor, Department of Genetics

occonorgiles@wisc.edu

(608) 265-4813

Vivek Prabhakaran

Assistant Professor, Department of Radiology

vprabhakaran@uwhealth.org

(608) 265-5269

Subhojit Roy

Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Pathology

roy27@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1227

Eric Shusta

Howard Curler Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

eshusta@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5103

Thomas P. Sutula

Chair and Professor, Department of Neurology

sutula@neurology.wisc.edu

(608) 263-5448

Michael Taylor

Assistant Professor, School of Pharmacy

michael.taylor@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1939

Ei Terasawa

Professor, Department of Pediatrics

terasawa@primate.wisc.edu

(608) 263-3579

Raghu Vemuganti

Professor, Department of Neurosurgery

vemuganti@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-4055

Marc Wolman

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

mawolman@wisc.edu

(608) 890-1962

Su-Chun Zhang

Professor, Departments of Neuroscience and Neurology

suchun.zhang@wisc.edu

(608) 265-2543

Xinyu Zhao

Jenni and Kyle Professor, Waisman Center, Department of Neuroscience

xinyu.zhao@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9906