Development, Plasticity, and Repair

The faculty in this area focus on understanding the cellular and molecular mechanisms that pattern the nervous system during development. Many complex processes are involved in the differentiation of specific neuronal and glial cell types and the formation of axon pathways and neural connections. In Neuroscience Training Program, students use cutting edge genetic techniques in model systems such as Drosophila, zebrafish, and mice to understand how individual molecules function in a variety of processes important for neural development. One main focus of investigation is understanding the mechanisms of neuronal and glial differentiation. Faculty are exploring questions such as how cell lineage is determined, how cells choose neuronal or glial fates, and what determines the type of neurotransmitter synthesized. Another strong concentration is the analysis of axon pathfinding mechanisms with live imaging of growing axons either in vivo or in cell cultures. Other faculty are investigating mechanisms of synaptic plasticity in the hippocampus and in the neural control of respiration. The Program also has a major strength in high-profile stem cell research. These investigators are pioneering methods of growing and controlling the differentiation of embryonic and neural stem cells; work that is crucial both for understanding normal neuronal differentiation mechanisms, and to replace neurons and restore circuits after brain injury or disease.

Randolph Ashton

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

rashton2@wisc.edu

(608) 316-4312

Tracy L. Baker

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

bakert@vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 890-2964

Anita Bhattacharyya

Assistant Professor, Cell and Regenerative Biology

bhattacharyy@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 265-6142

Seth S. Blair

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

ssblair@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1345

Michael Cahill

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

michael.cahill@wisc.edu

Robert Dempsey

Manucher J. Javid Professor; Chairman, Department of Neurological Surgery; Director, Multidisciplinary Stroke Program

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-1410

Erik W. Dent

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

ewdent@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7884

Timothy M. Gomez

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

tmgomez@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4554

Mary C. Halloran

Professor, Departments of Integrative Biology & Neuroscience

mchalloran@wisc.edu

(608) 263-7875

Zhen Huang

Associate Professor, Departments of Neurology & Neuroscience

z.huang@neurology.wisc.edu

(608) 263-2469

Robert J Lipinski

Assistant Professor of Veterinary Developmental Anatomy

robert.lipinski@wisc.edu

(608) 265-4043

Ruth Litovsky

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

litovksy@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 262-5045

Darcie L. Moore

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

darcie.moore@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7836

Vivek Prabhakaran

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

vprabhakaran@uwhealth.org

(608) 265-5269

Subhojit Roy

Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Pathology

roy27@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1227

Jayshree Samanta

Assistant Professor of Comparative Biosciences

jayshree.samanta@wisc.edu

(608) 262-4686

Eric Shusta

Howard Curler Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

eshusta@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5103

Michael Taylor

Assistant Professor, School of Pharmacy

michael.taylor@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1939

Ei Terasawa

Professor, Department of Pediatrics

terasawa@primate.wisc.edu

(608) 263-3579

Raghu Vemuganti

Professor, Department of Neurosurgery

vemuganti@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-4055

Marc Wolman

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

mawolman@wisc.edu

(608) 890-1962

Xinyu Zhao

Jenni and Kyle Professor, Waisman Center, Department of Neuroscience

xinyu.zhao@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9906