Development, Plasticity, and Repair

Groups whose research is focused in the area of Development, Plasticity, and Repair are interested in dissecting the cellular and molecular mechanisms that pattern the nervous system during development and following disease or injury. Using model systems such as Drosophila, zebrafish, and mice, and cutting-edge methods in vitro and in vivo, researchers pioneer novel techniques and study processes involved in:

  • differentiation of specific neuronal and glial cell types
  • axon pathfinding and the formation of neural connections
  • neural patterning during nervous system development
  • regeneration of axons following injury
  • synaptic plasticity in the hippocampus
  • vascular development and changes with disease
  • nervous system response to stroke
  • neural control of respiration
  • embryonic and adult neural stem cell proliferation, growth, and differentiation
  • CNS cell-type specific reprogramming in induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) and embryonic stem cells for disease modeling or replacement therapies

Andrew Alexander

Faculty Co-Director, Brain Imaging Core, Director of MR Physics Research, Professor of Medical Physics and Psychiatry

alalexander2@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8233

Randolph Ashton

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

rashton2@wisc.edu

(608) 316-4312

Tracy L. Baker

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

bakert@vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 890-2964

Anita Bhattacharyya

Assistant Professor, Cell and Regenerative Biology

bhattacharyy@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 265-6142

Seth S. Blair

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

ssblair@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1345

Michael Cahill

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

michael.cahill@wisc.edu

Qiang Chang

Associate Professor, Department of Genetics

qchang@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 262-9416

Edwin R. Chapman

HHMI Investigator & Ricardo Miledi Professor of Neuroscience; Director, Quantitative Membrane Biophysics Program

chapman@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1762

Robert Dempsey

Manucher J. Javid Professor; Chairman, Department of Neurological Surgery; Director, Multidisciplinary Stroke Program

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-1410

Erik W. Dent

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

ewdent@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7884

Marina Emborg

Professor, Medical Physics; Director, Preclinical Parkinson's Research Program

emborg@primate.wisc.edu

(608) 262-9714

Timothy M. Gomez

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

tmgomez@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4554

Mary C. Halloran

Professor, Departments of Integrative Biology & Neuroscience

mchalloran@wisc.edu

(608) 263-7875

Mrinalini Hoon

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

mhoon@wisc.edu

(608) 263-8495

Zhen Huang

Associate Professor, Departments of Neurology & Neuroscience

z.huang@neurology.wisc.edu

(608) 263-2469

Robert J Lipinski

Assistant Professor of Veterinary Developmental Anatomy

robert.lipinski@wisc.edu

(608) 265-4043

Ruth Litovsky

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

litovksy@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 262-5045

Darcie L. Moore

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

darcie.moore@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7836

Bas Rokers

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology

rokers@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8992

Avtar S. Roopra

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

asroopra@wisc.edu

(608) 262-6930

Subhojit Roy

Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Pathology

roy27@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1227

Jayshree Samanta

Assistant Professor of Comparative Biosciences

jayshree.samanta@wisc.edu

(608) 262-4686

Masatoshi Suzuki

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

msuzuki@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 262-4264

Michael Taylor

Assistant Professor, School of Pharmacy

michael.taylor@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1939

Ei Terasawa

Professor, Department of Pediatrics

terasawa@primate.wisc.edu

(608) 263-3579

Jyoti J. Watters

Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

jjwatters@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1016

Jill C. Wildonger

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry

wildonger@wisc.edu

(608) 890-4619

Xinyu Zhao

Jenni and Kyle Professor, Waisman Center, Department of Neuroscience

xinyu.zhao@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9906