University of Wisconsin–Madison

Perception and Movement

How would you describe the color of the sky to a blind person? How would you describe the sound of Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite to a deaf person? Human experience arises through our senses and based on this experience, our actions allow us to interact with our world.

The University of Wisconsin-Madison has a long history of prominence in studies of sensory and motor cortices from the work of Clinton Woolsey and Jerry Rose who established a world class auditory physiology group. This group now encompasses a broad range of experimentation from biophysics of signal transduction to electrophysiological correlates of sound localization as well as imaging and psychophysical and computational studies of complex sound processing such as speech. Still other faculty study visual motion processing as well as how visual perceptual mechanisms contribute to the control of voluntary movements of the eye and limbs. Since many neurological diseases are expressed as disorders of perception and movement, gaining knowledge about neuronal mechanisms in the healthy brain is a first step in understanding, treating and preventing disease.

Anjon Audhya

Associate Professor Department of Biomolecular Chemistry

audhya@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3761

Michelle Ciucci

Associate Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Department of Surgery, Division of Otolaryngology- Head and Neck Surgery

ciucci@surgery.wisc.edu

(608) 265-6516

Robert Fettiplace

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

fettiplace@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9320

Xin Huang

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

xhuang43@wisc.edu

(608) 265-2744

Ruth Litovsky

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

litovksy@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 262-5045

M. Elizabeth Meyerand

Professor, Departments of Medical Physics & Biomedical Engineering; Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering

memeyerand@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1685

Donata Oertel

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

doertel@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6281

Luis Populin

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

lpopulin@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6451

Timothy T. Rogers

Professor, Department of Psychology

ttrogers@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0808

Bas Rokers

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology

rokers@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8992

Ari Rosenberg

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

ari.rosenberg@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5782

Mark S. Seidenberg

Professor, Department of Psychology

seidenberg@wisc.edu

(608) 263-2553

Brittany Travers

Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy Program in the Department of Kinesiology, Waisman Center

btravers@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0282

Daniel J. Uhlrich

Professor, Department of Neuroscience; Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Policy, UW Graduate School

duhlrich@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1044

Peter L. E. Van Kan

Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology

vankan@education.wisc.edu

(608) 262-7423

Justin C. Williams

Professor & Department Chairperson, Department of Biomedical Engineering

jwilliams@engr.wisc.edu

(608) 265-3952