University of Wisconsin–Madison

Neuronal Circuits

This research area is concerned with how cells behave when connected together to form neural networks, and thus forms the link between molecular and systems neuroscience. We are now poised to explain how the activity of groups of cells in the brain contributes to specific behaviors, and how patterns of activity in groups of cells arise based on the properties of individual cells in the network. Nonlinear interactions between voltage and ligand-gated channels, second messenger systems, exocytosis, and other processes dictates that these networks will not just be the sums of their parts, but will produce unexpected and complex patterns of activity. Faculty address these questions in a diverse array of systems. For example, researchers investigate how sensory stimuli are extracted in the periphery, processed in parallel, and reunited centrally to form cohesive percepts, and how this information is used to plan and execute motor output. Faculty are also investigating how cortical circuits are reorganized during learning, how memories are stored and retrieved, and what goes wrong with these processes in pathologies such as epilepsy and Parkinson’s diseases. Others study the pattern generating circuitry controlling locomotion and breathing. The circuit-based mechanisms underlying stress responses, waking and arousal, and neuroendocrine regulation of the cardiovascular system are also being addressed. Students have the opportunity to learn state-of-the art techniques for monitoring activity and assaying connectivity within neural networks, including simultaneous patch clamp recordings from visually identified cell pairs and triplets, single and multiple cell staining, imaging with voltage and calcium-sensitive fluorescent dyes, electrophysiological recordings, in vivo, and neural network modeling.

Vaishali P. Bakshi

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

vbakshi@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6062

Matthew I. Banks

Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

mibanks@wisc.edu

(608) 261-1143

Craig W. Berridge

Professor, Department of Psychology

berridge@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5938

Mark S. Brownfield

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences, School of Veterinary Medicine

brownm@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 263-5863

Michael Cahill

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

michael.cahill@wisc.edu

Miles Esptien

Professor Emeritus

mepstein@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5074

Stephen C. Gammie

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

scgammie@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3457

Xin Huang

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

xhuang43@wisc.edu

(608) 265-2744

Meyer B. Jackson

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

mbjackso@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9111

Stephen M. Johnson

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences, School of Veterinary Medicine

johnsons@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 263-2996

Mathew V. Jones

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

mathewjones@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4394

Lingjun Li

Professor, Department of Pharmacy

lli@pharmacy.wisc.edu

(608) 265-8491

Xuelin Lou

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

xluo3@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6265

Donata Oertel

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

doertel@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6281

Robert A. Pearce

Chair and Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

rapearce@wisc.edu

(608) 263-0208

Luis Populin

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

lpopulin@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6451

Bas Rokers

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology

rokers@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8992

Ari Rosenberg

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

ari.rosenberg@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5782

Paul A. Rutecki

Professor and Vice Chairperson, Department of Neurology; Director of VA Northwest Epilepsy Center of Excellence

rutecki@neurology.wisc.edu

(608) 263-5448

Yuri Saalmann

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

saalmann@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8671

Philip H. Smith

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

phsmith@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0291

Anthony O. W. Stretton

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

aostrett@wisc.edu

(608) 262-2172

Ei Terasawa

Professor, Department of Pediatrics

terasawa@primate.wisc.edu

(608) 263-3579

Robert G. Thorne

Assistant Professor, School of Pharmacy

rthorne@pharmacy.wisc.edu

(608) 890-3508

Giulio Tononi

Professor, Department of Psychiatry

gtononi@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6063

Daniel J. Uhlrich

Professor, Department of Neuroscience; Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Policy, UW Graduate School

duhlrich@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1044

Marc Wolman

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

mawolman@wisc.edu

(608) 890-1962

Jay Yang

Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

jyang75@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6710

Lea Ziskind-Conhaim

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

lziskind@wisc.edu

(608) 263-3382