University of Wisconsin–Madison

Molecular Neuroscience

Molecular neuroscientists seek to understand the development and function of the nervous system at the level of individual molecules and macromolecular complexes. This broad field encompasses researchers utilizing a variety of approaches to explore issues ranging from the structure and function of individual molecules such as ion channels to the molecular basis of behavior. For example, faculty in molecular neuroscience at the University of Wisconsin-Madison study the molecular basis of neuronal differentiation, axon guidance, synaptic transmitter release, ion channel gating, receptor-ligand interactions, cell signaling and cell death, to name a few areas. To perform these studies many researchers are taking a multidisciplinary approach applying protein biochemistry, molecular cloning, site directed mutagenesis, transgenesis, patch clamping, single and multiphoton microscopy, as well as other biophotonic based methods. In keeping with the interdisciplinary nature of the Neuroscience Training Program and the breadth of expertise of its faculty, many opportunities exist for cross-disciplinary collaborations with molecular neuroscientists.

Anthony P. Auger

Professor, Department of Psychology

apauger@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3743

Tracy L. Baker

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

bakert@vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 890-2964

Mark S. Brownfield

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences, School of Veterinary Medicine

brownm@svm.vetmed.wisc.edu

(608) 263-5863

Corinna Burger

Associate Professor of Neurology

burger@neurology.wisc.edu

(608) 263-0301

Michael Cahill

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

michael.cahill@wisc.edu

Baron Chanda

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

chanda@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3936

Qiang Chang

Associate Professor, Department of Genetics

qchang@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 262-9416

Edwin R. Chapman

Professor, Department of Neuroscience; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

chapman@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1762

Shing-Yan Chiu

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

schiu1@wisc.edu

(608) 262-6994

Chiara Cirelli

Professor, Department of Psychiatry

ccirelli@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9236

Cynthia Czajkowski

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

cmczajko@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5863

Erik W. Dent

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

ewdent@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7884

Robert Fettiplace

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

fettiplace@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9320

Timothy M. Gomez

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

tmgomez@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4554

Zhen Huang

Associate Professor, Departments of Neurology & Neuroscience

zhuang3@wisc.edu

(608) 263-2469

Bermans J. Iskandar

Professor, Department of Neurological Surgery

iskandar@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-9651

Meyer B. Jackson

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

mbjackso@wisc.edu

(608) 262-9111

Jeffery A. Johnson

Professor, Department of Pharmacy, School of Pharmacy

jajohnson@pharmacy.wisc.edu

(608) 262-2893

John S. Kuo

Professor, Depts of Neurological Surgery and Human Oncology; Director, Comprehensive Brain Tumor Program; Chair, Carbone Cancer Center CNS Tumors Group

kuo@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 262-7303

Lingjun Li

Professor, Department of Pharmacy

lli@pharmacy.wisc.edu

(608) 265-8491

Xuelin Lou

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

xluo3@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6265

Albee Messing

Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

messing@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 263-9191

Darcie L. Moore

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

darcie.moore@wisc.edu

(608) 265-7836

Luigi Puglielli

Professor, Department of Medicine

lp1@medicine.wisc.edu

(608) 280-7000

Gail A. Robertson

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

garobert@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3339

Avtar S. Roopra

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

asroopra@wisc.edu

(608) 262-6930

Patrick H. Roseboom

Senior Scientist, Department of Psychiatry

roseboom@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0504

Subhojit Roy

Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Pathology

roy27@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1227

Arnold E. Ruoho

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

aeruoho@wisc.edu

(608) 263-5382

Eric Shusta

Howard Curler Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

eshusta@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5103

Anthony O. W. Stretton

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

aostrett@wisc.edu

(608) 262-2172

Michael Taylor

Assistant Professor, School of Pharmacy

michael.taylor@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1939

Raghu Vemuganti

Professor, Department of Neurosurgery

vemuganti@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-4055

Jyoti J. Watters

Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

jjwatters@wisc.edu

(608) 262-1016

Marc Wolman

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

mawolman@wisc.edu

(608) 890-1962

Jerry C.P. Yin

Professor, Departments of Genetics and Neurology

jcyin@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5014

John-Paul Yu

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

jpyu@uwhealth.org

(608) 265-4792