Molecular Neuroscience

Molecular neuroscientists seek to understand the development and function of the nervous system at the level of individual molecules and macromolecular complexes. This broad field encompasses researchers utilizing a variety of approaches to explore issues ranging from the structure and function of individual molecules such as ion channels to the molecular basis of behavior. For example, faculty in molecular neuroscience at the University of Wisconsin-Madison study the molecular basis of neuronal differentiation, axon guidance, synaptic transmitter release, ion channel gating, receptor-ligand interactions, cell signaling and cell death, to name a few areas. To perform these studies many researchers are taking a multidisciplinary approach applying protein biochemistry, molecular cloning, site directed mutagenesis, transgenesis, patch clamping, single and multiphoton microscopy, as well as other biophotonic based methods. In keeping with the interdisciplinary nature of the Neuroscience Training Program and the breadth of expertise of its faculty, many opportunities exist for cross-disciplinary collaborations with molecular neuroscientists.

Tracy L. Baker

Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

(608) 890-2964

Corinna Burger

Associate Professor of Neurology

(608) 263-0301

Michael Cahill

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

Baron Chanda

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 265-3936

Qiang Chang

Associate Professor, Department of Genetics

(608) 262-9416

Edwin R. Chapman

Professor, Department of Neuroscience; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

(608) 263-1762

Chiara Cirelli

Professor, Department of Psychiatry

(608) 263-9236

Cynthia Czajkowski

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 265-5863

Erik W. Dent

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 265-7884

Robert Fettiplace

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 262-9320

Timothy M. Gomez

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 263-4554

Zhen Huang

Associate Professor, Departments of Neurology & Neuroscience

(608) 263-2469

Meyer B. Jackson

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 262-9111

Jeffrey A. Johnson

Professor, Department of Pharmacy, School of Pharmacy

(608) 262-2893

Robert J Lipinski

Assistant Professor of Veterinary Developmental Anatomy

(608) 265-4043

Darcie L. Moore

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 265-7836

Luigi Puglielli

Professor, Department of Medicine

(608) 280-7000

Gail A. Robertson

Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 265-3339

Avtar S. Roopra

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 262-6930

Subhojit Roy

Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Pathology

(608) 263-1227

Jayshree Samanta

Assistant Professor of Comparative Biosciences

(608) 262-4686

Eric Shusta

Howard Curler Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

(608) 265-5103

Raunak Sinha

Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience

(608) 265-7836

Michael Taylor

Assistant Professor, School of Pharmacy

(608) 262-1939

Tyler Ulland

Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine


Raghu Vemuganti

Professor, Department of Neurosurgery

(608) 263-4055

Jyoti J. Watters

Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

(608) 262-1016

Cara J Westmark

Assistant Professor of Neurology

(608) 262-9730

Jerry C.P. Yin

Professor, Departments of Genetics and Neurology

(608) 262-5014

John-Paul Yu

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

(608) 265-4792