University of Wisconsin–Madison

Behavior, Cognition, and Emotion

Understanding how neural processes are translated into complex behaviors and mental states is one of the most challenging frontiers of neuroscience. Neuroscientists intrigued by this question study problems such as learning and memory, emotion and motivation, behavioral state regulation, complex information processing and cognition. Many of these investigators utilize tools and approaches that are multidisciplinary, incorporating methodologies and theoretical frameworks from physiology, psychology, molecular biology, and computational neuroscience. There are a number of strong and active research groups at the University of Wisconsin-Madison addressing these questions. One group uses state-of-the-art neuroimaging tools (functional MRI and PET) to examine the human brain during cognitive tasks or emotional states. Other faculty employ animal models to investigate brain substrates of motivated behavior, such as feeding, sexual behavior, aggression, stress responses, and drug-seeking behavior. There are a number of researchers focusing on organization of brain systems that control behavioral states, such as sleep and wakefulness. Other significant research areas include the study of neural pathways involved in language and sensory processing. Levels of investigation are often multifaceted; for example, researchers may be interested in correlating neurochemical, neurophysiological, endocrine, or molecular and genetic processes with behavioral states.

Heather C. Abercrombie

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

hcabercr@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6126

Anthony P. Auger

Professor, Department of Psychology

apauger@wisc.edu

(608) 265-3743

Vaishali P. Bakshi

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

vbakshi@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6062

Brian A. Baldo

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

babaldo@wisc.edu

(608) 263-4019

Barbara Bendlin

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

bbb@medicine.wisc.edu

(608) 265-2483

Allyson J. Bennett

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology

ajbennett2@wisc.edu

608-262-6020

Craig W. Berridge

Professor, Department of Psychology

berridge@wisc.edu

(608) 265-5938

Corinna Burger

Associate Professor of Neurology

burger@neurology.wisc.edu

(608) 263-0301

Michael Cahill

Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Biosciences

michael.cahill@wisc.edu

Chiara Cirelli

Professor, Department of Psychiatry

ccirelli@wisc.edu

(608) 263-9236

Josh M. Cisler

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry

jcisler2@wisc.edu

Richard J. Davidson

Vilas Professor, Departments of Psychology and Psychiatry

rjdavids@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8972

Robert Dempsey

Manucher J. Javid Professor; Chairman, Department of Neurological Surgery; Director, Multidisciplinary Stroke Program

dempsey@neurosurgery.wisc.edu

(608) 263-1410

Stephen C. Gammie

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

scgammie@wisc.edu

(608) 262-3457

Xin Huang

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

xhuang43@wisc.edu

(608) 265-2744

Edward Hubbard

Assistant Professor, Deparment of Education Psychology

emhubbard@wisc.edu

(608) 265-2607

Ned H. Kalin

Hedberg Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry

nkalin@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6079

Michael R. Koenigs

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry

mrkoenigs@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1679

Ruth Litovsky

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

litovksy@waisman.wisc.edu

(608) 262-5045

Catherine A. Marler

Professor, Department of Psychology

camarler@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5598

M. Elizabeth Meyerand

Professor, Departments of Medical Physics & Biomedical Engineering; Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering

memeyerand@wisc.edu

(608) 263-1685

Jack B. Nitschke

Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Psychology

jnitschke@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8600

Ozioma Okonkwo

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

ozioma@medicine.wisc.edu

(608) 265-4479

Luis Populin

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience

lpopulin@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6451

Brad R. Postle

Professor, Department of Psychology

postle@wisc.edu

(608) 262-4330

Vivek Prabhakaran

Assistant Professor, Department of Radiology

vprabhakaran@uwhealth.org

(608) 265-5269

Lauren V. Riters

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

lvriters@wisc.edu

(608) 262-6506

Timothy T. Rogers

Professor, Department of Psychology

ttrogers@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0808

Bas Rokers

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology

rokers@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8992

Patrick H. Roseboom

Senior Scientist, Department of Psychiatry

roseboom@wisc.edu

(608) 262-0504

Yuri Saalmann

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

saalmann@wisc.edu

(608) 262-8671

Robert D. Sanders

Assitant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

robert.sanders@wisc.edu

Giulio Tononi

Professor, Department of Psychiatry

gtononi@wisc.edu

(608) 263-6063

Lyn Turkstra

Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

lsturkstra@wisc.edu

(608) 262-7583

Marc Wolman

Assistant Professor, Department of Integrative Biology

mawolman@wisc.edu

(608) 890-1962

Jay Yang

Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

jyang75@wisc.edu

(608) 265-6710

Jerry C.P. Yin

Professor, Departments of Genetics and Neurology

jcyin@wisc.edu

(608) 262-5014

John-Paul Yu

Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

jpyu@uwhealth.org

(608) 265-4792